The Emotional Toll of Pain


Many times when we think of pain, especially chronic pain, we think only of the physical not the emotional. There are many aspects that affect us emotionally due to living with chronic pain. This is one of the reasons why I decided to become a psychotherapist.

Oh the pain is vaguely understood by my friends and family. They try to be empathetic and supportive, many of them are. However, as some cannot see the illness they cannot understand it and be able to be there for me in a way that I need. This left me with a feeling of isolation and loneliness. This was not the fault of my friends and family, it was just how I felt. The shattered hip and stroke compounded that feeling of sadness and isolation. It was only when I found a purpose that the feeling started to assuage.

Helping other people has put purpose back into my life and has given me a sense of accomplishment. This blog was started to help support other pain patients through their journey of chronic pain. It has made an immense difference in my life and given me something to be happy about again. By helping other people cope with their trauma, anxiety, depression, PTSD, chronic illness, chronic pain and other mental health issues, I have been able to find my way out of the darkness and into the light.

If you are looking for someone to talk to or you know of someone please feel free to visit my profile on Psychology Today.

https://www.psychologytoday.com/profile/1055755

I hope that I can be of help to someone who is in need of emotional support. It is a struggle for us but there are ways of coping with the struggles. It is important that we maintain some semblance of positivity so that we are able to cope with our situation.

I hope that you’re finding some peace and calm in the face of adversity. We must be able to fight the chronic pain from all angles.

I’ll be in touch soon!

Leave a comment