I Passed My Masters in Psychology


It took me some time to finish my program after my stroke but I passed!

This says a lot about neuroplasticity. It allowed me to recover from my stroke faster than it would have if I had nothing to do. It also was a challenge to do so while still in pain. The pain has changed due to the stroke. I have lost full use of both of my hands but I am still able to use them for the most part. It just feels like my left hand is asleep most of the time. So I write to you now based on voice activated software, which has been a godsend. It is now allowing me to be able to write in this blog which I have not been able to do as much as I would like.

I am now able to practice as a psychotherapist, but I am still qualifying. This means I still have an exam to write in the fall which I am preparing for now. However I am still able to see clients and help them with various different presenting problems.

You can see my profile by typing in your browser psychology today, KATHLEEN Hogg. One of my specialties is chronic pain as we know how debilitating it can be both physically and mentally. Also, it is an invisible illness that most people don’t understand and are unable to empathize with. So My goal is to assist them in anyway I can.

The great thing about this job is that it is 100% virtual. This means I am able to work from home which allows me to manage my pain much better than if I had to go into an office every day. My stroke has also left me with the inability to drive, which is one of the biggest downfalls. It has limited me and my family, which makes it difficult for all of us.

I have been very lucky with my stroke. I am able to walk, talk and do the majority of daily living activities. This I count as a huge blessing, as it could’ve gone in a much darker direction.

I don’t want to be limited by my pain or my stroke or to be defined by it. Completing this masters program has breathed some joy into my life and a great sense of accomplishment.

I have learned many different and new methods to manage my pain psychologically, which has helped me immensely. Before doing my masters I did not truly believe in a lot of the psychological benefits that were out there. I would be more likely to fall into depression or frustration when I should focus on getting better. I have now found some great coping mechanisms to help manage the pain and they work!

I will try to keep up my writing as I think it will help me be grateful for what I still have and what I am continuing to do to grow and thrive.

If you need someone to talk to please look me up or at the very least try and find a therapist to help guide you through chronic pain.

Leave a comment